Friday, May 14, 2010

Long time, no blog...





Yes I do realize that it has been a long time since i have last updated. I've been busy with school,riding, & my awesome friends. School is okay...well sort of. It's getting really hard to juggle everything but i think i'll manage since there are only like 13 more instructional days, 1 day that is CRAZYYYY(yearbook & senior assembly day.Normally this is over 2 days but this year they decided to combine them), and 4 exam days.
Riding....not really much to say except that i'm back to jumping and cantering...
Friends. I shall repeat.They are AWESOME.
I'm just soooo ready for this year to be over. But really as soon as summer starts i really don't get to rest as i have to get senior pictures done, get a job, ride, work on my senior project, etc,etc.
oh well enough of my ranting

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Horse Show yesterday

I went to a Piedmont Saddle Club Show yesterday. It was fun and really tiring. I rode Red, a chestnut gelding. WE took two horses. Daisy and Red.
Daisy's riders: Eden,Lillian,Brandy,Elissa.
Red's riders:Kaylie,Me,Elissa.

Everybody did flat classes while a few of us did the games on horseback.
Me & Elissa did ride-a-buck.
We both lost.
Linnea & Kim signed us up for as many classes as they could.
We also had to think up shownames on the spot.
Red was Big Red.
I don't know what Daisy's was.
We dared Linnea to go into the stick pony races with me and Elissa cause we were the oldest ones in there as the rest were 9 and under. (yeah we were embarrassed.).
Linnea WON!!! haha
We got a few ribbons. Not bad for the barn's first time showing ever.
We got anywhere from 1st to 6th. Elissa & I didn't get any riding ribbons because Red was a butthole and decided to freak during our classes. My 1st class i lost control and he nearly crashed with another horse where everyone from my barn was standing. They could all see my face. My 2nd class(ride-a-buck) I rode better and kept control of him. I had a martingale and used half-halts alot!
During Elissa's class he was just a huge butt. Thats pretty much all I can say. There are good and bad show days. And for me and Elissa it was the latter.
Sorry I have no picsright now. Battery was dead in my camera.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Possible horse show soon.

Yep! The title isn't kidding. I could ride in a horse show soon. It's a fun show. It's english and western. I'm not sure if i'll be able to ride in it because I'll just be getting used to the horse i'm switching to for my next lesson. Her name is Baby. And she's a bay QH...i think. I've only seen her. I've never ridden her before and she is going to be the horse i'm riding for my graduation project. If your wondering about what that is, check my other blog. SO the barn is having a meeting about expectations when we go to shows and etc, on the 20th. FUN FUN. well i gtg. homework.

Saturday, February 13, 2010

Awesome lesson yesterday

Yesterday I had another private lesson with my trainer, Linnea. I rode a paint named Trip. Trip was a little spooky since, earlier in the day a woman with mules came and had a lesson, he's scared of mules...we just found that out. But I got on,me in a thick Carhartt jacket, even though it was cold and he was spooky. I walked and trotted around for a little bit. Then I was on the side of the ring closest to the barn and he spooks and tries to take off. I pulled him in while saying really loudly "WHOA!". Linnea thinks a bird scared him but we're not sure. So anyways, I jumped a little bit :) It wasn't huge but it was fun. After a while of jumping a few times I cooled him out and went to get off. My leg cramped up and we spent like five minutes trying to get my foot to be flat. So after I put Trip in his stall, me and Linnea talked for a little while then we both left the farm. I ma or may not go to the farm next Sunday. It just depends on what my mom is like. Either way I have a lesson the Friday afterward. I think i'll ride Red so i can canter :)

Thursday, January 28, 2010

pics





I feel like posting pictures. These are at least a few months old. I don't know how many years old some of them are. THe paint is Toby. The ribbons were from a barn show. THe green cart is me @ the local county fair where I showed goats for FFA. And one is me and my cousin, Avalon, leaving the water park. okay...so my computers being slow so i'm going to go and do something else. maybe clean tack...maybe not...

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Rode again today

I rode today. I was suposed to ride Friday but we decided to go ahead a have my lesson today due to possible winter weather. Anyway, I used my new saddle. :) Linnea likes it and loves how my position is nearly perfect. It's weird considering I really haven't ridden much in the past year and yet the only thing i'm being fussed at about is my shoulders or simple thing like my thumbs or how my hands tend to rest in my lap. I go back to the barn on my birthday, 02/06! I'll be 17. I don't know if i'll ride that day, but we'll see. And Linnea said that in the next few lessons or so i might be able to canter. :)
I just need to learn to not be distracted by psycho cats. haha. Tripp was so good. I only had to remind him that I wanted a forward trot, not a pokey trot.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Busy week



This week is a busy one. Tomorrow starts exams. The exam i have tomorrow is for Physical Science. It shouldn't be too difficult. But anyway. Last Friday I was able to start riding again. I had a private lesson and I rode a 16hh paint named Tripp. I love him he is soooooo awesome. I should be to use my own saddle at the barn soon. I've just been waiting for my new stirrup leathers to come in. I go again on the 29th and then on my birthday (February 6th) I'm going with my trainer to a clinic :)